Welcome to the Website of Mike Trial

Dark Music is Mike Trial’s latest collection of short stories.

Music touches us emotionally. But that touch can generate many different kinds of emotion: love, anger, sadness, longing, fulfillment, inspiration… virtually every human emotion. For musicians, the creation of music can sometimes be the only part of life worthwhile, or a destructive force so strong it annihilates them.

Available in all formats in early 2019


Rogue Patriot – a JD Iselin novella

Top secret intelligence indicates North Korea is readying a nuclear-tipped ballistic missile for launch, target unknown. Against Defense Department orders, US Navy Admiral Hallam takes it on himself to send a clandestine SEAL team into North Korea to stop the launch.



New Empires Rising – a JD Iselin novella

JD Iselin and the mercenaries of his private military company, Iselin Security Options, have been called in to deal with a situation more secret, more dangerous, and more complex than any he has dealt with before. With the world’s oil supply hanging in the balance, every decision JD’s team makes must be the right one.

Traitor!– a JD Iselin novella

Available summer 2019!